WE WILL TRAVEL TO YOU | AVAILABLE 24/7
Recover the Compensation That You Deserve Representing the Injured Victims of Quincy and the State of Massachusetts for Many Years

What Do I Do If I Was Hit By An Uninsured Driver?

Being involved in any type of motor vehicle accident is a stressful experience and one that could be made worse if it involves an uninsured motorist. What are you supposed to do if you were injured in an accident and the at-fault driver does not have any insurance? It is a complicated situation, for sure, but we have the answers you are seeking and some information regarding the steps you must take in the aftermath of such an incident.

Below are some tips on how you should handle an accident with an uninsured driver:

  • Call law enforcement to the scene of the accident: Just as you would after being involved in any car accident, you should contact the police. It is a step that is even more critical when the driver who is responsible for the accident lacks insurance. The police will be able to file an accident report, which will provide the evidence you need to help your personal injury claim go a lot more smoothly. Make sure that you also take pictures of the damage and the location where it occurred, including skid marks and other pertinent details.
  • Exchange information: Although the police officers who arrive at the scene will obtain the other driver’s information, it is still important for you to gather this information as well. This is the stage at which you would learn if the other driver has insurance coverage. Once you find out he or she does not, collect other information, such as the car’s plates, year, make, and model. If there were witnesses at the scene, collect their contact information, so you can easily reach them again when you begin the claims process.
  • Call your insurance company: The steps your insurance company is able to take at this point will generally depend on the details of the situation, including the amount of damage sustained and the terms of your policy. In Massachusetts, uninsured motorist coverage is required by law. This type of insurance will provide coverage for your expenses and pain and suffering. Additionally, in the state of Massachusetts, the minimum coverage for bodily injury is $20,000 per person and up to $40,000 per accident.
  • Care for yourself: If you suffered an injury as a result of the accident, chances are you are going to face some medical expenses. Typically, the at-fault driver’s insurance company would be covering those expenses, but given that you were hit by an uninsured motorist, this situation will pan out a little differently. With uninsured motorist bodily injury protection, your insurer should cover these expenses, including your medical bills and lost wages.

Car Accident Attorneys in Massachusetts

If you were recently injured in a motor vehicle accident caused by an uninsured motorist, you need to obtain legal representation to ensure you recover the fair and just compensation you deserve for your injuries and other damages incurred. At Flanagan & Associates, our legal professionals are dedicated to protecting the wrongfully injured and will do what it takes to help you get back on your feet during this difficult time.

Get started on your case today and contact our law office at (781) 218-3760 to request your free initial case evaluation with a knowledgeable and compassionate personal injury attorney.

Categories: